Whale Heritage Area application process

How are Whale Heritage Areas designated?

1. Aspiring WHA

  • Sign the Wildlife Heritage Area guiding principles
  • Submit basic information about the proposed area
  • Create a listings page for the Wildlife Heritage Areas website

2. Candidate WHA

  • Sign an MOU with the WCA
  • Start to create a Steering Committee and Management Plan, and gather evidence to meet criteria and indicators

3. Designated WHA

  • Submit evidence, Management Plan, and Steering Committee details for assessment by the WCA and Independent Review Panel
  • After designation: submit annual updates, as well as new evidence and an updated Management Plan every three years

Whale Heritage Area criteria

  1. Cultural importance of cetaceans
  2. Respectful human-cetacean coexistence
  3. Responsible whale and dolphin tourism
  4. Steering Committee
  5. Management Plan

Who can apply?

Applications are encouraged from communities that advocate a real connection between cetaceans and both locals and tourists alike, whilst actively promoting the preservation of cetacean habitats for the benefit of present and future generations.

Fee structure

Developing and transitioning countries: USD$750

Developed countries: USD$2,500

A 20% discount on our WCA Approved programme is available for responsible whale and dolphin watching tour operators in Whale Heritage Areas.

Find out more

For more information about the process and how to apply, please contact elizabeth.cuevas@worldcetaceanalliance.org


World Cetacean Alliance, 132-134 Albion Street, Southwick, West Sussex, BN42 4DP, UK.

Registered Charity: 1160484

Follow us