For Destinations

For Destinations

The WCA runs the only certification programme designed for destinations that practice responsible tourism for cetaceans. Whale Heritage Sites are outstanding locations where cetaceans (whales, dolphins, or porpoises) are embraced through the cultural, economic, social, and political lives of associated communities, and where people and cetaceans coexist in an authentic and respectful way.


Established by the World Cetacean Alliance in 2016, Whale Heritage Sites aim to increase the protection and conservation of cetaceans and their habitats while contributing to sustainable livelihoods, the arts, science and education.


Whale Heritage Sites are high sea or coastal marine areas, and less often freshwater rivers and lakes, where cetaceans live, and their associated land areas. Whale Heritage Site status is granted to those places around the world where cetaceans are celebrated through art, education, research and cultural events; where sustainable practices and livelihoods are continually improved to ensure the health of cetacean habitats and the long-term economic health of human communities; and where respectful coexistence with cetaceans is supported through law, policy and cooperation.


For more information click here.

WHS+Partner logo
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons